The town was surveyed by Walsh in 1878 and named after Quorndon in Leicestershire, UK, as part of the preparations for building the railway line from Port Augusta northwards. The railway line from Port Augusta to Quorn opened in 1879 and was subsequently extended north to Alice Springs in 1929. This railway line later became known as the "Ghan line".
In 1917, Quorn became the crossroads of any travel in Australia. This made Quorn an important town, given that any person travelling east-west or north-south in Australia would need to pass through it. As a result, many fine buildings were built as the town expanded.
Quorn's role as a crossroads was lost when a standard gauge railway connection was opened between Port Pirie Junction and Port Augusta in 1937. Quorn was a vital service point for trains heading north to Alice Springs and carried over 1,000,000 troops heading to Darwin. Services during this time also included coal mined at Leigh Creek.
During the 1950s a new standard gauge line was built that bypassed Quorn. This bypass took away the last railway traffic through the Pichi Richi Pass, and the last major freight traffic through Quorn and eventually in 1980s the railway was completely closed as the last freight was moved to road transport.
In 1973, a group of railway enthusiasts assembled with the desire to preserve the unique bridges and stone work built in the previous century that formed the railway through the Pichi Richi Pass. #Heritage_Railway_Station