Dagbreek ("Day Break") men's residence lies in the heart of Stellenbosch. Dagbreek is also known as the John Murray House (named after the founder John Murray of the School of Theology) and is a special place for generations of Maties that had the privilege of residing there during their studies since its inception in 1921. Residents belonging to Dagbreek are called "Dawners", "Daggies" or "Dagbrekers".
Dagbreek has a rich history and many traditions. One of the most notorious traits of Dagbreek is its synonymity with the French Eiffel Tower which is evident from the scaled replica that adorns the central, honorary position of its Quad. The Eiffel serves as the official symbol of Dagbreek and is also the name for its official publication - "Die Eiffel" - the residence's third rugby team - "Die Eiffels" - and their choir group - "Die Eiffelkoor".
Wynand Louw is the architect of Dagbreek. Construction started in 1920 and finished in 1921, but the building only contained sections one to seven. JD Conradie was the first resident and in its first year Dagbreek housed only 27 residents. Initially each resident had to prepare his own food, but this system did not work well and in 1925 construction started on sections eight to eighteen. The added sections included the dining hall, as well as a recreation hall on top. This hall, was named "Vishol Park", after two residents - Visser and Hollenbach - who set up a table tennis record there. #Dagbreek #Huis_van_Roem_en_Faam #Stellenbosch #Stellenbosch_Universiteit #Stoffel