Slemko House (Built: 1912 Restored to: 1919)
Slemko Granary (Built: 1913 Restored to: 1919)
Slemko Barn (Built: 1914 Restored to: 1919)
The Ukrainian immigrants who arrived in east central Alberta between 1900 and 1914 underwent different experiences than those who had come in the 1890s. Roads and railways had improved in the region, and once-scarce materials, supplies and labour were more readily available. With these advantages and the experience of the people who had come earlier, the later homesteaders were able to develop their farms at a faster rate.
The Jacob Slemko family farmed in the South Kotzman district. Their one-roomed house, which was built as a temporary accommodation until a bigger, more permanent home could be built, was styled after one of the oldest forms of domestic folk architecture known in Ukraine. One of the main traditional features found in this chimneyless house is its large pich (clay oven), characteristic of many Ukrainian homes in east central Alberta well into the 1920s. As usual, it was built with its windows and doorway facing south.
http://tapor.ualberta.ca/heritagevillage/farmsteads/laterimm/index.php #Alberta #Edmonton #Historic #UCHV