Whitehead Hall was built in 1947-48 and is named for John B. Whitehead. It was the first building at the University to be named after a living person. Whitehead received a certificate of proficiency in applied electricity in 1893, an AB in 1898, a PhD in physics in 1902, and went on to teach electrical engineering until 1942. He was instrumental in obtaining funding from the Maryland General Assembly to establish the School of Engineering in 1912 and. He was dean of the Engineering School from its inception until 1938 and served as director of the School from 1938 to 1942.
Attached to Whitehead is the Power House, which was built in 1914 as a source of both power for the University and practical experience for Electrical Engineering students. The building was expanded in 1948, and still provides much of the University’s steam and heat, as well as a small portion of its electricity.