George's Brewery Building, Finzels Reach, Bristol

George's Brewery Building, Finzels Reach, Bristol

TRM DA
A building of the old George's Brewery. The building has now been converted to a new use. In 1788, after the business had been taken over by a partnership headed by Philip George, the iconic George's beer name was launched but times were hard at home and in 1796 George's decided to open a pale ale brewery in Bath Street and concentrate on an export trade. In 1888, when George's became a public company, they owned 70 tied pubs as outlets. By the 1930s, George's had more than 900 pubs and other outlets. In 1961, George's got caught up in a wave of mergers sweeping the industry and was absorbed by London based Courage, Barclay & Simonds. In 1971 Courage was taken over by Hanson (Imperial Group). Hanso its breweries in 1986 to Elders (Fosters). In 1995, Elders sold out to Scottish and Newcastle, the brewery who, some four years later, would close the plant down for good. In 1999 the new owners Newcastle and Scottish decided to close down the business. #TRM_DA #Beer #Brewery #Bristol #Bristol_Bridge #Courage #Flats #Georges #Industrial #Industry #Offices #Store #Temple_Back #Warehouse
Default Title