In 1952 a decree by the Soviet of Ministers of the USSR was made for the construction of the building for permanent winter circuses in the country. It was done to pay tribute to the contribution of Belarusian people to the victory and reconstruction of the national economy. The building began on the 30th October 1954. Four years later on the 31st January 1959, on the 40th anniversary of the BSSR and the Communist Party of Belarus the first permanent winter circus was held. The building has 1667 seats, available. The area of the square the building is located on is — 7600 m2, and the size of the building is — 5700 m3. The circus is planned for shows of all genres, beginning with water fairy-tale plays to tremendous air performances. The shows are unique. The architect of the building is Vladimir Alexeevich Zhukov. The builder Boris Efimovich Kabischer, the director. The Circus is loctaed on Nezavisimosti avenue, at the western end of Gorky Park, across the street from Yanka Park, in the heart of Minsk.