Created 5/2/2007 | 0 Likes
Serbia, officially the Republic of Serbia (Serbian: Република Србија or Republika Srbija, listen (help·info)), is a landlocked country in Central and Southeastern Europe, covering the southern part of the Pannonian Plain and the central part of the Balkan Peninsula. It is bordered by Hungary on the north; Romania and Bulgaria on the east; Albania and the Republic of Macedonia on the south; and Montenegro, Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina on the west. The capital is Belgrade. The modern state of Serbia was created by the merging of the Ottoman province of Kosovo and Metohija in 1912 and the Habsburg Vojvodina in 1918, with the previously independent Kingdom of Serbia. Current borders were established following the end of the World War II.